DARE is a third level alternative admissions scheme for school-leavers under the age of 23 as of 1 January 2023 whose disabilities have had a negative impact on their second level education.

Applicants to DARE can present with an Irish Leaving Certificate, A-Levels and/or other EU qualifications.

DARE offers reduced points places to school leavers who, as a result of having a disability, have experienced additional educational challenges in second level education.

What types of disabilities does DARE consider?

  •  Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)/Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Autistic Spectrum Disorder (including Asperger’s Syndrome)
  • Blind/Vision Impaired
  • Deaf/Hard of Hearing
  • Developmental Co-ordination Disorder (DCD) – Dyspraxia
  • Dyscalculia/ Significant Numeracy Difficulties
  • Dyslexia/ Significant Literacy Difficulties
  • Mental Health Condition
  • Neurological Condition (including Brain Injury and Epilepsy)
  • Physical Disability
  • Significant Ongoing Illness
  • Speech and Language Communication Disorder