Oh what a night – Kerry ETB School Awards


DSC_0196 (1280x576)It was a great night of celebration and acknowledgements at the annual Kerry Education and Training Board  Student Awards in the IT Tralee North Campus last Friday night. The awards recognise the dedication and commitment of student across the county from schools and Youthreach centres.

YouthReach is a Department of Education and Skills official education, training and work experience programme for early school leavers aged 15 – 20. It offers young people the opportunity to identify options within adult life, and provides them with opportunities to acquire certification.

The Four YouthReach programmes are KDYS Transforum Alley YouthReach, KDYS Leaving Cert applied, KDYS Listowel YouthReach and KDYS Killarney YouthReach.

The guest of honour on the night was a former Tralee Youthreach student, Garda Yohan Hunt, who is a founding member of Tralee First Responders.

A special thanks goes to all the Schools and Youthreach centres, the teachers, parents/guardians who contributed to  the success of the students.

IMG_8409 (2)' (47)' (103)' (64)

Here is a list of all the winners on the night… Congratulations to all the students – well done!

Exceptional Leadership in the School Council/Youthreach Centre

  • Michal Bajewicz – Transforum Alley Youthreach
  • Kerrie Daly – Causeway Comprehensive School
  • Mistura Bukky Oyebanji – Coláiste Gleann Lí
  • Mark Fealey – Coláiste Na Ríochta
  • Cian Breathnach – Coláiste Na Sceilge
  • Caoimhe Ní Mhuircheartaigh – Gaelcholáiste Chiarraí
  • Andrew and Paul Brosnan – Killarney Community College
  • Jade O’Connor – Killorglin Community College
  • Padraig O’Connell – Castleisland Community College
  • Shane McCarthy – Listowel Youthreach
  • Sherban Sief – Tralee Youthreach LCA
  • Josh Mahony – Transform Alley Youthreach
  • Siobhan O’Byrne – South Kerry Youthreach

Exceptional involvement in the life of the school at junior cycle

  • Kevin Keane – Castleisland Community College
  • Cora O’Connor – Causeway Comprehensive School
  • Emma Byrne – Coláiste Gleann Lí
  • Conor Hope – Coláiste Na Ríochta
  • Aisling Ní hArrachtáin – Coláiste na Sceilge
  • Barra Ó Siochrú – Gaelcholáiste Chiarraí
  • Breda Kelliher – Killarney Community College
  • Peter Kyselica – Killorglin Community College

Junior Certificate Academic Awards

  • Ryan Maguire – Castleisland Community College
  • Mark O’Donoghue –  Castleisland Community College
  • Caitriona Mary Curran – Causeway Comprehensive School
  • Yasmine McGrath – Coláiste Gleann Lí
  • Michael Hickey – Coláiste Na Ríochta
  • Tara Whittington – Coláiste na Sceilge
  • Sadhbh Sionóid – Gaelcholáiste Chiarraí
  • Praise Titus – Killarney Community College
  • Hugh Hurley – Killorglin Community College

Transition Year Achievement Award

  • Emily Barrett – Causeway Comprehensive School
  • Brian Lonergan –  Castleisland Community College
  • Stephen Ó Fógartaigh – Coláiste Na Sceilge
  • Cian Ó Cianáin – Gaelcholáiste Chiarraí
  • Robyn Sheehan – Killarney Community College

Peer Mentor Award

  • Owen Barry – Killarney Community College
  • Orla Ní Chofaigh – Coláiste Na Sceilge
  • Tiffany O’Brien – Coláiste Gleann Lí
  • Owen O’Sullivan – Causeway Comprehensive School
  • Conor Ó hOrgáin, Micheál Ó Duinn, Rónán Ó Muirí, Vince Ó Cathasaigh
  • Alanna O’Sullivan – Killorglin Community College
  • Labhaoise Walmsley – Castleisland Community College

Medal Award Winners!

Best Youthreach Student

  • Gaelle Adado – Transform Alley Youthreach
  • Annie Burke – Tralee Youthreach LCA
  • Paulina Maslanka – Killarney Youthreach
  • Declan O’Shea – South Kerry Youthreach
  • Nadine Rider – Killarney Youthreach

Best LCA Award

  • Filip Bruzgiewicz – Killarney Community College
  • Cheyenne Cunningham – Tralee Youthreach LCA
  • Ciara Maher – Coláiste Na Sceilge

School Academic Excellence Award

  • Natalija Aleksejenko – Killarney Community College
  • Killian Horgan – Causeway Comprehensive School
  • Sahra Hassan – Coláiste Gleann Lí
  • Alex Fleming – Castleisland Community College
  • Laura O’Sullivan – Causeway Comprehensive School
  • Ciaran O’Connor – Coláiste Na Ríochta
  • Marie O’Connor – Killorglin Community College

Béaltrialacha Roghnacha sa Ghaeilge an Testais Shóisearaigh

  • Hugh Hurley – Killorglin Community College
  • Grace O’Sullivan – Killarney Community College

Best Technology Student

  • Christian Steinborn – Castleisland Community College

Best Languages, Arts and Social Science Student

  • Donagh Mac Uillleagóid – Gaelcholáiste Chiarraí

Best Science Student

  • Cathal Ó Donnabháin – Coláiste Na Sceilge
  • Muireann Nic Ginnea – Gaelcholáiste Chiarraí
  • Éamonn Ó Braoin – Gaelcholáiste Chiarraí

Best Business Studies Student

  • Kevin Daly – Castleisland Community College
  • Sinéad Ní Chlúmháin – Coláiste Na Sceilge

Best Overall Academic Student

  • Laura Ní Chonchúir – Coláiste Na Sceilge
  • Ciara Ní Dhálaigh – Coláiste Na Sceilge
  • Éamonn Ó Braoin – Gaelcholáiste Chiarraí


Stay in touch


Charity Number 7039